A password-protected directory is a folder which can't be accessed unless the correct login credentials are provided. This may be a whole website or just one page that is located within a subfolder. If you try to open such a directory, you shall see a browser pop-up in which you will need to type a username and a password. If you type the correct ones, you will be able to continue browsing the content without having to do anything else. In case the login credentials are not right, however, you'll see information that you aren't permitted to view the content. When this function is enabled, you won't be able to open a file even when you have a direct link. The feature is incredibly effective if you wish to restrict the access to some content or if you work on a site and you don't want visitors to be able to access it before it's ready.

Password Protected Directories in Website Hosting

All our website hosting plans include an incredibly useful tool that will permit you to protect any folder inside your account from unauthorized access with just 2 clicks. When you log in to your Hepsia website hosting CP, you'll simply have to visit the Password Protection section, to pick the main domain or subdomain, to specify the folder which should be secured - the root folder or some folder under it, and then to type in the username and the password which have to be used to access the content in question. The function will be activated immediately, so if you attempt to open the folder/website, you will be prompted to enter the login details. You can set up or remove multiple usernames for the exact same folder, if necessary. If you check out the File Manager section, all password-protected folders will be shown with a little padlock icon.