Whois Privacy Protection, at times also called Privacy or Whois Privacy Protection, is a service that conceals the actual contact details of domain owners on WHOIS check web sites. Without this service, the personal name, street address and email of any domain owner will be freely accessible. Providing fake details during the domain name registration procedure or changing the authentic info later will simply not work, as doing such a thing may result in the domain registrant losing his/her domain name ownership rights. The policies adopted by the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), require that the WHOIS information must be valid and accurate all the time. The Whois Privacy Protection service was introduced by domain registrars as a response to the increasing concerns for potential identity theft. If the service is active, the domain name registrar’s contact information will appear instead of the domain registrant’s upon a WHOIS lookup. Most domain names support the Whois Privacy Protection service, even though there are certain country-code ones that do not.

Whois Privacy Protection in Website Hosting

You can easily activate Whois Privacy Protection for any domain that you have registered through our company in case you have a website hosting account with us. This can be achieved through the exact same Hepsia hosting Control Panel, via which you manage the web hosting account, so you will not need to sign in and out of different Control Panel tools. In the same section where all your active domain names will be listed, there will be an “Whois Privacy Protection” icon for each and every domain name whose extension supports this service. The status of that icon will quickly show you whether the Whois Privacy Protection service is activated for a certain domain or not and by clicking on that icon you can add the service in case you have not done so during the signup procedure. Besides, you will also be able to renew or to deactivate the Whois Privacy Protection service for any domain name using the very same icon and the change will take effect momentarily.